Women Who Inspire Me // BEDM Day 3

As a young female, I have been influenced by many different people in my life. A lot of the people who have inspired me to be the person I am, and who I would like to be in the future are women. I believe that women should be celebrated, and that a lot of negativity towards women comes from women themselves. Therefore, I am writing this post to celebrate, and thank the women who have played an important role in my life.

My Mum

This shouldn’t really surprise anyone, but one of the most important people in my life is my Mum. Without her I quite literally wouldn’t be where I am now. She does so much for me, and often puts the needs of her children before her own. My Mum has been through so much in her life, from medical issues to the loss of family members. Yet through it all, her focus has been her children. She taught me a lot, and hopefully one day I can pass that on to my own children.

My Nanny

Sadly, she is no long with us, but my Nanny was (and still is) one of the biggest influencers in my life. I used to visit her quite often, and we would do the typical grandparent-grandchild activities such as making cakes and gardening. There was nothing I loved more than going to her house and performing small plays for her. She encouraged all of her grandchildren to be creative, and loved to watch us sing, dance and act! She passed away when I was 9, it felt like my whole world had fell apart. But now I make sure that everything I do is to make her proud; whenever I feel unsure about what I am doing, I imagine her sitting right next to me, encouraging me to do my best. ❤

‘Miss Jones’

Her name isn’t really Miss Jones, but for the sake of confidentiality, that will be her name. Miss Jones was my old English teacher. She was one of the only teachers that I felt comfortable talking to. She had an amazing personality, and always encouraged her pupils to do their best, and genuinely that their best interests at heart. She taught my class in Year 9, and up until the Easter break of Year 10, when she moved to another school. I was heartbroken when she announced she was leaving. It was actually Parents’ Evening on the day that she told us (she had told us during the day), and I broke down into tears during the appointment because I didn’t think I would have any chance of passing with the new teacher. She gave me her email address for her new school, and told me to contact her if I had any problems. She was honestly one of the kindest teachers I have ever had, and I am so grateful for the support she gave me.

Little Mix

For anybody who knows me personally, this really isn’t a shock. Little Mix are my favourite musical artists, and are such a big part of my life. I first ‘fell in love’ with them on Week 4 of The X Factor, seeing the support that Jade showed for Jesy, even though they had not known each other for very long just made me so happy. I love that they are genuinely friends, it would have been very easy for them just to perform together on the show, and then split up. The fact that they have stuck together is amazing! They love their fans so much, and are proud promoters of Body Positivity and LGBTQ+ rights. As a group, they get a lot of unnecessary criticism, and it makes me so sad when people judge them for their looks and fashion choices. Their music has helped me through a lot of hard times, and learning about the girls’ own lives inspires me to just do what I want, and forget what everyone else thinks.

I hope you have enjoyed Day 3 of BEDM, let me know who inspires you in the comments!

See you soon x

Leave a Reply

