My GCSEs

I’d like to talk about my GCSEs. This post will be about why I chose my subjects, how much I enjoyed them, and what grades I achieved.


English Language

GCSE English Language was not optional, it had to be taken by everyone. Initially, I really enjoyed it, as we started off with coursework. We had to write a letter, and a rant, as well as an oral assessment. As we focussed more on the exam paper, it became more stressful, but overall, I liked it. My overall grade for English Language was B.


English Literature

Again, this course was mandatory. Over the course I studied Romeo and Juliet, Of Mice and Men, To Kill a Mockingbird, and An Inspector Calls. We also had to study an anthology of poems. Of all the texts, my favourite was To Kill a Mockingbird. In the final exam I answered questions on An Inspector Calls and To Kill a Mockingbird. There was no coursework for English Lit. which I feel let me down a bit as my final grade was C.


Mathematics

I had always enjoyed Maths, although it was a required GCSE, I think I would have chosen to do it anyway! I loved the problem solving side of Maths, and for some reason working with numbers just made me really happy. I took two Maths papers (calculator and non-calculator), and overall I got A*. I cried so much when I found out on results day!


Science

I took my Science as one GCSE, there was no option of taking Biology, Chemistry or Physics separately. My favourite element was Biology, and my least favourite was Physics (weird considering I liked Maths, right?). The Science department at my school was going through a few staffing issues, so I’m surprised I managed to learn something! My coursework was graded as an A, my first exam paper was graded C, and my second paper B. This gave me an overall grade of B.


Additional Science

At my school, you had to take Additional Science if you were in one of the top three sets. It was very much a similar experience to my Core Science GCSE. My coursework was graded A*, my first exam paper a C, and the second paper was graded B. Overall, I achieved a B grade.


Art & Design

I had loved Art throughout my school experience, and I think I was quite good at it. I particularly enjoyed 3D style art and creating sculptures etc. I found the course quite stressful and restricting. Because you need to show a range of skills, and each piece takes time to produce, I sort of enjoyed it less. My coursework portfolio was graded as a B, and my final exam piece also got a B, giving an overall grade of B.


Design & Technology: Product Design

There is a bit of a theme here. Whilst choosing my options I wanted to pick subjects that I enjoyed, but could also lead to a possible career. At that time I was considering entering a career in design such as Fashion, or Interior design. The actual coursework side of the course was really enjoyable, and I loved expressing and developing my ideas. However, I really disliked the theory part that we would be assessed on in the exam. Both my coursework and exam was graded as B, meaning that I got a B overall.


History

I love History so much! I find it so interesting to learn about our past. So when I had to choose between History and Geography, there was really no question! I really like the content of the course, we studied The American West and Crime and Punishment. We also had to do a 2000 word essay for coursework, for this I earned a grade A. For my exam papers I got an A and a B. My overall GCSE grade was B.


French

Some of you may already be aware, but I am a great supporter of learning languages.  believe that it is very important, and from my experience, fun to do. You can read more about my thoughts here. For coursework I was assessed on Writing and Speaking. Both of these were graded as B. My Listening exam paper was graded A, and my Reading paper A*. Combined, I received an A grade.


Overall I achieved 1 A*, 1 A, 6 Bs, and 1 C. I am very proud of myself and the work that I put into my revision etc. Obviously, GCSEs have started to change and coursework is being removed from a lot of subjects, which I think may have affected my results significantly.

If you have anymore questions about my GCSEs, or how I revised for them, let me know and I’ll be more than willing to help if I can. Good Luck for those who have some exams left, and those who are possibly starting Mock exams. I hope you all get the results that you’re wishing for!

Sign off

3 thoughts on “My GCSEs

    1. Thank you! I think my main motivation was the fear of failure. Trust me, when I was in your position I was so laid back about revision. But don’t worry, you still have some time ahead of you to start. I think it’s important to get all of your notes together first and then turn that into revision material such as Mind maps, Flashcards etc. As long as revision is often put into your daily routine, you’ll do fine! If you ever need any help, let me know xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

