Never been drunk

I have never been drunk.

As I am 17, you’re probably thinking: ‘yeah, you’re not legal to drink alcohol. What’s your point?’ Well, I don’t think I ever want to/will get drunk.

I was 13 when my group of friends first went out to drink alcohol. I remember we waited outside a local supermarket for ages for ‘the right looking person’ to ask to buy us a 3 litre bottle of cider to share between 5 of us. I was scared, I didn’t want them to agree and then walk into the shop and tell the security guard on us, or be given the drink and then get caught by the police later on.

My parents have never really been strict on the ‘no alcohol’ thing, they never got angry if I admitted to drinking, but they certainly didn’t encourage me to do it either. I feel like it is that that has caused me to have this view on drinking. I just don’t get it. Obviously, I’ve never been ‘drunk-drunk’ but I have been tipsy, and I didn’t like it. Plus, it can get quite expensive, so, I’d rather not.

Even when we had our leaving school/prom/exam result celebrations last year, I didn’t really drink. Yet, I still had a good time. I just don’t get the mentality that alcohol=fun. Like, sure, you get drunk, and do silly things, but I find that most people wouldn’t do those things without drinking.

Another thing that I don’t like are those ‘I’m going to drink until I can’t remember anything’ types of people’. Seriously? Surely it would be better to spend your money on creating memories instead of nights out where you forget what happened.

I find it so sad the see the amount of people my age who rely on alcohol, and will literally drink at any given chance. We all know that alcohol is dangerous, and the statistics are really scary

Based on data from 2006–2010, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) estimates that, on average, alcohol is a factor in the deaths of 4,358 young people under age 21 each year.

This includes:

  • 1,580 deaths from motor vehicle crashes
  • 1,269 from homicides
  • 245 from alcohol poisoning, falls, burns, and drowning
  • 492 from suicides

Don’t get me wrong, if you want to drink, go ahead. These are just my opinions, and the way that I want to live my life. As long as you are responsible, and keep yourself and your friends safe then carry on doing you. I’ll just stick to my glass of lemonade!

A helpful link for more information: www.drinkaware.co.uk


Please do share your own opinions on Alcohol in the comments, I’d love to hear if people agree/ have opposing views. But please do be respectful of others.

Sign off

7 thoughts on “Never been drunk

    1. It’s not that I’m never going to drink alcohol ever again, because I’d be lying if I said that. There are certain drinks that I do like the taste of, but I’d like to think that I’d limit myself, and not actually get drunk.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

